News:

Rings of Reznor!

Main Menu

Non game related Tech help.

Started by Zivon23, October 14, 2009, 04:23:06 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Zivon23

My puter crashed,  Lost almost everything.  Now, my problem is my USB's aren't working.  There is power to them...ie I can power someting that powers off of usb ports...mp3 players, psp, etc.  However, when I try to hook up my camera, there is nothing.  The computer doesn't acknowledge the "external Drive".  I know...Drivers.  All my drivers are up to date.  Now where should I look?

Perplexed,

~Z23~

stumpy

I'm not an expert on drivers and that's certainly a likely source of issues, but USB drivers are usually included with the OS these days, so it's tough to be sure they are the problem here. Do other, non-storage devices (like a USB mouse/keyboard) work on the PC?

I also had a USB drive disappear when a crash occurred while the drive was being written to. The drive was there if I checked the hardware in the Control Panel, but it didn't show up in My Computer because the formatting was fargled and Windows offered to reformat the drive. You might want to check whether the physical drive shows up in Computer Managment under the drives applet.

I have had USB ports go bad. I had one where the connector developed a crack in the solder joint to the motherboard and I had to resolder it myself. I also had one that just quit working period; it might have been fried by some sort of power spike. I would double check the USB devices on another PC to make sure they aren't the issue and then test each of the USB ports on the PC where you're having trouble to see if some of them are working.

Also, I have had very iffy behavior from USB "hubs" that turn one USB port on your PC into several. If you are using one, it's worth trying to connect the devices directly to the PC's USB ports to eliminate the hub as a source of problems.