• Welcome to Freedom Reborn Archive.

Comparing the old to new

Started by laughing paradox, July 02, 2008, 01:54:36 AM

Previous topic - Next topic
|

laughing paradox

So after being a part of this community and being inspired by so much of the work put into the meshes and skopes and skins and everything else, I decided to try my hand at some very simple skinning. I am a rank amateur to skinning, and not too knowledgeable in Photoshop, but I still gave it a good try.

After some time reading more tutorials, I decided to grapple Ten of the Royal Flush Gang, who has a very easy design, and maybe entice someone into making the rest of the members? ;)

My first attempt at Ten is here.
[spoiler]

[/spoiler]

This is my second attempt of Ten here, to show the progression:
[spoiler]

[/spoiler]

I would love know to learn specifically about skinning around areas where the mesh changes shape, like the waist, but the costume design remaining consistent all the way through.

If anyone wants to offer tips or advice or critiques, I'd really appreciate it. Hopefully I'll keep learning and you guys will have, eventually, another skinner in your midst.

Also, where can I find more skin bases? I've joined one group and it has a few, but I'm certain there are others.

The Enigma

A higher texture resolution is really a must. Those spades are waaay too blurry at the moment. Still, keep at it and who knows, one day you too might have the fanboys clamouring for your work.

laughing paradox

Quote from: The Enigma on July 02, 2008, 02:58:23 AM
A higher texture resolution is really a must. Those spades are waaay too blurry at the moment. Still, keep at it and who knows, one day you too might have the fanboys clamouring for your work.

Thanks for the input. I realize how low-res the first one was after you mentioned it and decided to redo it. Practice makes perfect!

laughing paradox

Skinning gets kind of addictive!

So I made a skin for Black Widow and here's how it came out.