create a new superhero game similar to ff with a free game engine?

Started by naitvalis, July 21, 2010, 12:19:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

naitvalis

i wonder if this is possible, cause i don't see the coming of a new ff so near...
i see many free game engine out on the internet, and many look very interesting, sure there isnt a lack of meshes and skins for a project like this. i'm not an expert altought i know is very difficoult to run al that programming codes for a game, well i post this only to know better if this is even possible over years...

Epimethee

Theorically possible, but even with a large dedicated group of fans with some expertise, from what I can see of existing open source games, it'd require many years of work, IMO. Finding an existing game to mod into FF would be easier.
FFX add-on for FFvsTTR at ffx.freedomforceforever.com

catwhowalksbyhimself

The typical big open source project like this, gets partially done, then dropped a few years later.  The I"ve seen other still going, but for 5 or more years without any release in sight.  It takes a LOOONG time to get something of this complexity off the ground.
I am the cat that walks by himself, all ways are alike to me.

TrajkLogik

The best option, IMO, would be to place our efforts in expanding/updating FFX an/or other mods that expand  :ffvstr:

Epimethee

Quote from: TrajkLogik on July 23, 2010, 11:57:04 AM
The best option, IMO, would be to place our efforts in expanding/updating FFX an/or other mods that expand  :ffvstr:
Been there, done that. ;)

More seriously, my beef with this approach:
- The game is starting to show its age and limitations.
- FF is moddable, yes, but we've covered a fair amount of what's possible to do to expand it (and hit a lot of unmovable walls in the process)