News:

Rings of Reznor!

Main Menu

New Modder of Modest Ambition, frustrated

Started by Captain Chaos, February 13, 2010, 08:55:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Captain Chaos

I'm very new to these games, having just bought them in the Steam package and played through them both.  After exploring the fantastic FF web community, I knew I had to do some modding.

My goal was very simple: Make some short, uncomplicated missions and insert them into the original FF campaign.  No additional fx, maps, anything.  Just a longer vanilla campaign that allows the basic characters to be more fully explored.

I cleared the first hurdle of getting FFedit to install on FF1 (Vista, Steam installed, using regedit).  Everything was going swimmingly until I tried to Edit In-game, at which point leveledit.exe crashes.  This pretty much brought me to a screeching halt, since I lack the time and ability to create levels without this feature.  Adding FFX 2.6 to the mix offered no solution. Some online inquiry led me to this conclusion:

1.  Leveledit.exe can't be made to work unless you're running a system older than Win 98 sp2.  So much for modding FF1 - it's dead, Jim.  So much for the wealth of maps and meshes for FF1 ... sigh.

So I turned to FFVTTR, though I much preferred the style and feel of the original game, and the original campaign is what I set out to mod.   

Still, I was able to get FFedit working fully in FFVTTR, and found that meshes can be converted to FFVTTR by an easy (but tedious) process.   Maps are a problem: conversions of FF1 maps look like hell, but I'm willing to work with the toony FFVTTR maps, if I can find enough of them.  By now EZscript looks like my best bet, so I install FFX 3.3.

My goals are still modest:  To create a small campaign from scratch using simple EZscript missions, and flesh it out as I become more familiar with the tools.  Now I have a new problem: