News:

Rings of Reznor!

Main Menu

Fallout New Vegas

Started by lugaru, October 19, 2010, 08:29:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

lugaru

So as you guys know I'm a big Fallout 3 evangelist... played the heck out of it and even made some mods. Well I pre-ordered New Vegas and so far (about 4 hours in) I'm loving it. If you play on Hardcore (which you must!) it is a lot like playing Fallout 3 with the great "wasteland wanderer edition" mod. Hardcore = healing is more complicated and you must eat/drink/sleep to live.

So far the game is smarter too, you see hints of agriculture, economy and cattle raising. Fallout 3 lacked in those departments, but in New Vegas you can be mixing stuff out of plants you harvest and curing hydes in no time. The game needs some more scarcity though, I'm a newbie and I'm pretty well armed, armored and equipped at level 2.

The voice work, quests, level design and such feel like an improvement so far... although I swear this game recycles some of my least favorite Fallout 3 graphical assets.

Any thoughts?

Courtnall6

I was really looking forward to getting this on launch day...but my video card died and that needs to be replaced before I can get the game. My friends keep bothering me to just get it for console...but they just don't understand how huge the modding comminity is for Fallout.

I love the details on the Hardcore mode. :cool:
Clothes make the man and colourful tights make the Super-Hero.

lugaru

Yeah... fallout 3 (and soon Civ 5) has a lot of options with mods.

Wish you where in my neighborhood... there is an "electronics recycling" place that has two 512 meg video cards for under $50 each. Same place where I bought somebody a 5th generation nano for like $70. I also got them to pick up my old tv (I gifted it to them) when I found a huge, much more modern one on moving day.