• Welcome to Freedom Reborn Archive.

Some questions about the fundamentals of 'building' a hero

Started by Carravaggio, September 15, 2007, 09:17:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Carravaggio

I've been playing COX for about six months now, and I'm really enjoying it, but, to be honest, the fan forum is a horrid mess of a layout, and certain information is eluding me.
I figured the friendly gals and guys here at FR might be able to give me a hand in regards to some questions. So i'll post what it is i'm trying to work out and hopefully someone will be able to supply the relevant facts.

Firstly, slotting powers etc. Which way do enhancements work? If i have a bunch of end cost reduction enhancements (25% endurance red) and i throw four of them on a power, will it reduce the end cost of the power by 100% (25 x 4) OR will it reduce the end cost by 25%, then a further 25% or the remaining 75% etc.?

In short is it possible to make powers that cost next to no end?

Similarly, when making a power that increases your damage resistance, does a 25% damage reduction enhancement reduce the amount of damage you take by 25%, or does it increase your base resistance to that type of damage by 25%? and again, is it therefore possible to make a character that is almost invincible (from physical attacks anyway)

If someone even knows of a site or location of this sort of data and can link it for me that would be fine too. I'm just unsure how the enhancements work, and understanding that would be helpful in building a more powerful character.

Ephemeris

Every power has a base number for each aspect that can be slotted.  Your enhancements boost those base numbers by X%.  So...

If a power does an assumed 100 damage unslotted,
it would do 133 damage with 1 SO (assuming it's even level and 33%),
it would do 166 damage with 2 SO's,
it would do 194 damage with 3 SO's,