Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
 

News:

Happy 2021 !!!


Author Topic: Voicepack Max - voices not showing up as selectable in Characters  (Read 494 times)

Offline Lt. Vulture

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 32
Hey all, I've installed all the Voice Pack Max voices in my FFv3R directory (properly, like the readme shows how to) and copied over the relevant .dat files.

However, when I go into the game to work on my characters, I cannot see the voices listed under the "voice" drop down.  All I see are the built-in voices.  Any ideas what's wrong?

Offline BentonGrey

  • Titans
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 16497
    • The Greylands
Re: Voicepack Max - voices not showing up as selectable in Characters
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2020, 12:02:33 AM »
I'm not 100% sure if VPMAX provides the built-in information necessary to have the voices selectable in-game (been a long time since I messed with that kind of thing).  If you've got it installed right, you should be able to apply them to built-ins or via EZHero.
God Bless
"If God came down upon me and gave me a wish again, I'd wish to be like Aquaman, 'cause Aquaman can take the pain..." -Ballad of Aquaman
Check out mymods and blog!
https://bentongrey.wordpress.com/

Offline Lt. Vulture

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 32
Re: Voicepack Max - voices not showing up as selectable in Characters
« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2020, 01:43:30 AM »
Well unfortunately, they are not showing up under EZHERO.  I guess this means I need to add them using FFEDit?

Offline BentonGrey

  • Titans
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 16497
    • The Greylands
Re: Voicepack Max - voices not showing up as selectable in Characters
« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2020, 02:17:21 AM »
Yes, that is your only real option.  I forgot that EZHero gives you a dropdown.  You might actually be able to look up their code and just type it into the box in EZHero.
God Bless
"If God came down upon me and gave me a wish again, I'd wish to be like Aquaman, 'cause Aquaman can take the pain..." -Ballad of Aquaman
Check out mymods and blog!
https://bentongrey.wordpress.com/

Offline Lt. Vulture

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 32
Re: Voicepack Max - voices not showing up as selectable in Characters
« Reply #4 on: March 03, 2020, 03:18:55 AM »
Bentongrey, sorry to ask one more question, but how do I get my custom characters to show up in FFEdit?  I don't see them on the "characters" tab.

Offline BentonGrey

  • Titans
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 16497
    • The Greylands
Re: Voicepack Max - voices not showing up as selectable in Characters
« Reply #5 on: March 03, 2020, 05:00:26 AM »
LV, only built-in characters will show up in FFEdit.  Herofiles only show up in the custom characters section of the game.  You can add characters to the game itself, making them built-ins, with FFEdit, but I wouldn't mess with that until you were sure what you're doing.  You should be able to find the voice IDs of the VPs you installed either in the documentation or by looking at the Lang/English/Speech.txt file.  Search for the folder name of a particular voice, and the two characters that start the section will be the voice ID.
God Bless
"If God came down upon me and gave me a wish again, I'd wish to be like Aquaman, 'cause Aquaman can take the pain..." -Ballad of Aquaman
Check out mymods and blog!
https://bentongrey.wordpress.com/