Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
 

News:

Happy 2021 !!!


Author Topic: Exporting a NIF model in pose with Nifskope  (Read 610 times)

Offline Roseweave

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 10
Exporting a NIF model in pose with Nifskope
« on: November 21, 2019, 03:12:36 AM »
Basically when I open this model in Nifskope it looks like this -



But exporting to OBJ ends up giving me this in blender -



I think what I basically need to do is to be able to "apply" the skinning which doesn't apply to OBJ before it's exported, similar to how you "apply" the armature modifier in Blender.

Are there any suggestions on how to do this? Otherwise I'd have to re-rig the model and move everything back into place, which I'll do as a last resort.

Online SickAlice

  • One-Eyed Willy
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 2592
  • I'm of a mind to make some mookie.
    • The Litterbox aka MeanJellybean
Re: Exporting a NIF model in pose with Nifskope
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2019, 03:24:06 AM »
Most often in Blender the rest pose is different then the display pose in Nifskope. My shortcut to all of the above is to keep base nifs like male and female basic for example that have good rest and display poses. Then while making costume pieces I put the new body in one of those nifs so I can line everything up. Then when it's all done moves everything back over to the nif in question. So something with a T or Y pose in otherwords.

Offline Roseweave

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 10
Re: Exporting a NIF model in pose with Nifskope
« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2019, 03:41:21 AM »
IS there any way in Nifskope to make a new "rest" pose based on the skinning?

Online SickAlice

  • One-Eyed Willy
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 2592
  • I'm of a mind to make some mookie.
    • The Litterbox aka MeanJellybean
Re: Exporting a NIF model in pose with Nifskope
« Reply #3 on: November 25, 2019, 02:34:04 AM »
I have no idea what a "pose based on the skinning" even means sorry. But if you want to export an obj in the pose it is in Blender export both the model and the armature. If you don't export the armature with it then the model loses it's skeleton thus it's pose as well.

Edit: Sorry I forgot, before exporting the obj press Control+A to select all of it. That initiates "save selected". The object won't retain the skeleton in other 3d programs but this puts the pose info, which is in the skeleton into the obj.
« Last Edit: November 25, 2019, 09:59:45 PM by SickAlice »