FFX 3.3 knockback Not working for custom characters

Started by mocachild, March 28, 2018, 08:08:42 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mocachild

Hello,
I'm hoping I put this in the correct forum area.
I'm very new to using mods and meshes etc.  I was able to get FFX 3.3 going and am having a blast with it so far.  I did notice, however, that after making a custom character who had a knockback attack (melee) that the attack wasn't doing any knockback to any enemies.  While right clicking on an looking at the attack it says "KB None".  So I exited and checked the character file but the attack definitely had knockback on it.  I tried recreating the attack and also tried using different melee attacks and adding knockback just to check.  Not a single melee knockback will function.  The character's area attack that has knockback works just fine.  It seems to be the melee attacks.  I'm not sure if ranged knockback works, I haven't checked it yet. 

The campaign characters work just fine.  It seems to be only custom characters.  Does anybody have any ideas on what may be the issue?

Edit:  Ok, so I've done some more testing and here is what I've found.  If I give a character extreme knockback, it tells me in game, when right clicking on an enemy, that my knockback is LOW.  If I overcharge it, it bumps up to MEDIUM.  If I have less than extreme, it says there is no knockback.  Also, Medium and Low won't knockback even if overpowered.  It also seems to be doing this to a lesser degree with projectile attacks.

Edit 2: It seems that it is not an issue with FFX as I thought.  It does the same thing in the regular FFvTR.  I'm wondering if knockback is more complex than it appears during character creation.  I'm going to see if strength makes a difference with knockback.  Also, I'm going to check and see if power damage or type of attack makes a difference.