News:

Rings of Reznor!

Main Menu

Tomato reads classic Spider-Man comics

Started by Tomato, September 21, 2016, 05:50:51 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Tomato

So between recent threads and the fact that I literally have NOTHING ELSE TO DO while I'm at work (I'm working as a Phlebotomist at a Dr's office, and my average number of patients is like... 5 a day. To give some perspective on that, I can draw a single patient in less than 10 minutes, and I'm here for 8 hours a day.) I got a Marvel Unlimited subscription, and I've started reading through Amazing Spider-Man from the very beginning, something I haven't really done since I was very young. I have made it a little over halfway through issue 2, and... Ho boy.

Since I have some things to get off my chest about these issues, I figured I might as well make a thing about it and express my thoughts about each issue as I go. If nothing else, I feel like I might as well allow my suffering to be entertaining.

#1.
Spoiler
This entire issue is boring. It establishes a FEW things relevant to the Spider-Man mythos, like Jonah, but the whole thing is mostly forgetable. The entire first act is just the soap opera of Peter's struggle with finding a way to finance his home with Aunt May (something that is resolved WAY to quickly in issue 2, but I'll cover that in a bit) and while the whole John Jameson thing is cool, it waivers from a weird combination sluggish pacing and rushed plot points (Peter agonizes over helping John for a long time, but then we RUSH THROUGH him storming into NASA HQ (also his first meeting with Jameson), in like 4 panels.

Also: Peter Palmer.