80's movie remake

Started by JeyNyce, April 19, 2010, 12:54:52 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

JeyNyce

I don't call for tech support, I AM TECH SUPPORT!
It's the internet, don't take it personal!

cmdrkoenig67

I've heard the new Tron film isn't a remake (it's a sequel called Tron: Legacy)...And I had been hearing rumors of a Ghostbusters sequel for a few years, not that there will be a remake...But who knows?

Some of these may depend on how you define "remake", though...Like Masters of the Universe (Especially if they don't "remake" the original film's story, it could be a whole new story based on the toys/cartoon, etc...), The Thing was already a remake, of course, but both films were based on a novel (as the new film could be, we don't know yet)...Pet Semetary was also based on a book by Stephen King and the new film could just be a new take on the book and not necessarily a "remake".

Dana

JeyNyce

They use the word "remake" very loosely in the article.  I guess anything that was out already and is coming back is consider a remake weather it's a new take on the same story or not.

catwhowalksbyhimself

That's what I was thinking too.  A lot of these are either new adaptations of older movies adapted from books or comics or long delayed sequels, neither of which I would consider a true remake.

Both however, are made for the same reasons as remakes though--to capture a new audience using the name recognition of the older work.
I am the cat that walks by himself, all ways are alike to me.

GogglesPizanno

I do know that the Thing movie is actually a prequel and follows the Norwegian camp (the ones who found the creature and were chasing the dog in the choppper) from the beginning of the Kurt Russel version.

BentonGrey

Man....some of those movies...how could you POSSIBLY remake True Grit?  I mean, even Red Dawn is incredibly awesome just the way it is.  *shakes head*  Every time I think Hollywood couldn't possibly sink any lower, they manage to surprise me.