Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
 

News:

Happy 2021 !!!


Author Topic: Batarang sound from The Batman  (Read 3927 times)

Offline freegentile

  • Sr. Member
  • Posts: 305
  • Isaiah 53:1-12
Batarang sound from The Batman
« on: January 25, 2010, 08:01:25 PM »
Anyone have that cool batarang sound from "The Batman" series that ended up its last season last year? I have all the episodes from Season 5, but don't have any sound recording equipment that ties into my PC.

Offline freegentile

  • Sr. Member
  • Posts: 305
  • Isaiah 53:1-12
Re: Batarang sound from The Batman
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2010, 04:47:20 PM »
Previs, I believe The Batman series I'm referring to is the same one noted in your batarang_tv_2005 pack. I haven't had a chance to plug it in yet, but I'm hoping it is. Those batarangs had the coolest sound effect. I've searched all over the web & haven't been able to dig it up yet.

Offline Previsionary

  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 6001
Re: Batarang sound from The Batman
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2010, 07:26:40 PM »
Previs, I believe The Batman series I'm referring to is the same one noted in your batarang_tv_2005 pack. I haven't had a chance to plug it in yet, but I'm hoping it is. Those batarangs had the coolest sound effect. I've searched all over the web & haven't been able to dig it up yet.

Hrm, I take no credit for that batarang pack. All those various batarang nifs were made by Renegade (mesh) and C6 (skins). I only added ending effects and some tga work.
Disappear when you least expe--

Offline freegentile

  • Sr. Member
  • Posts: 305
  • Isaiah 53:1-12
Re: Batarang sound from The Batman
« Reply #3 on: January 30, 2010, 08:15:52 PM »
OK, I've plugged in this fx as batman_2005_batarang. I've plugged in the sound as fx_batman_2005_batarang_1, 2, & 3. Do I need all 3? I noted that it won't play if I just have the _1. But, if I plug in all 3, it triplicates the sound. Ugh. I'm almost there...so close to being proficient @ installing fx & sounds. Thank you!

Offline freegentile

  • Sr. Member
  • Posts: 305
  • Isaiah 53:1-12
Re: Batarang sound from The Batman
« Reply #4 on: January 30, 2010, 09:25:54 PM »
What I'm trying to do here is to get the start sound for my batarang fx to play once & that's it. Only way I can get my sound to play is if I set my fx up like the built in batarangs in this mod, which use shuriken_1, then shuriken_2/shuriken_2a, then shuriken_3/shuriken_3a/shuriken_3b. I've tried other quiet sounds along w/ my start sound & when i do that it only plays the other 2 sounds! Ugh. I'm not clear on why the default batarangs are set up like that. I just want one sound, all the way through. It's a sound I extracted from an episode of The Batman & it works very well since it's the sound of 2 batarangs flying & then hitting. So I don't need it to play more than once for the extent of the batarang throw.

Offline electro

  • Forum Fan!
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 1275
  • Friggid Justice
    • ELECTRO's Lair
Re: Batarang sound from The Batman
« Reply #5 on: February 02, 2010, 07:12:39 PM »
It sounds like your ussing a mod so first off make sure the Sound Path is correct in your Options tab of FFEdit, Click browse to see where it's going & change it if need be. I ussually work with the ffx3 mod so my sound path is "example" Irrational Games, Freedom Force vs Third Reich, ffx3, Sounds. Now I will make a Batarang fx called "example" Batarang_2010 in the FX tab. Now i will make the sound in the Sounds tab. I ussually copy & rename the alien_plasmarocket "example" fx_Batarang_2010_1 which is the start sound, fx_Batarang_2010_2 which is the throwing sound, & fx_Batarang_2010_3 which is the hit sound & save. Next I place sounds I want "which need to be converted to a MONO WAV files" in my  Irrational Games, Freedom Force vs Third Reich, ffx3, Sounds, Powers folder. Now open back up FFEdit & find your new Batarang_2010 sounds & I look at the WAVE FILES section & Remove the alien_plasmarocket sound & click ADD & find my new sounds in my powers folder. Once added you can mess with the looping in the Looping section. Sequential Loop means you can have mutlible sounds play randomly, Overlapping loop means 2 or more sounds will play at the same time & continuous loop will play forvever. I usually just stick to Sequential loop - hope this helps :blink:
« Last Edit: February 02, 2010, 07:14:56 PM by electro »

Offline freegentile

  • Sr. Member
  • Posts: 305
  • Isaiah 53:1-12
Re: Batarang sound from The Batman
« Reply #6 on: February 02, 2010, 09:49:02 PM »
Any idea why those other batarang sounds I find in the mods like Crisis have that cascading sound listing like...

powers/shuriken_3
powers/shuriken_3a
powers/shuriken_3b

Just curious as to what that accomplishes.

I'll try to copy a completely different sound like plasma rocket & then use my sound...and make sure I'm not looping. I had it all nailed, I just couldn't keep it from playing 3 times in a row.

Offline Previsionary

  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 6001
Re: Batarang sound from The Batman
« Reply #7 on: February 02, 2010, 10:13:30 PM »
It has 3 entries because it plays 3 sounds at "one" time OR a variable of those 3 sounds at random, depending on how it's set up.
Disappear when you least expe--

Offline freegentile

  • Sr. Member
  • Posts: 305
  • Isaiah 53:1-12
Re: Batarang sound from The Batman
« Reply #8 on: February 03, 2010, 01:57:30 AM »
OK, my fx is batman_2005_batarang. Path is fine. I have plugged in a mono wav sound clip for it. I only want this one sound clip to play when it is thrown. The fx has "weapon" for core & end. Wonder if this is my problem. I have the core nif from the batarang 9-pack & an end nif from a Crisis batarang, showing a flash & "krank" or some other impact word. I am creating a new sound, "fx_batman_2005_batarang_1". I plug in the path to powers & it is good. I can play the sound in FFEdit. Sequential looping. Didn't touch anything else. Save. Run Batman in the mod...ffx3_Mappack in this case...& batarangs are silent. Just don't get why it won't just play that one sound file when the batarang is thrown. Does the fx node have anything to do w/ the sound? Do I need to put "weapon" in the Start field instead of core or end?

Offline Previsionary

  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 6001
Re: Batarang sound from The Batman
« Reply #9 on: February 03, 2010, 02:27:50 AM »
Make sure you're actually installing the sound into the FFX Map pack and not the Crisis mod or the bare game. Also, make sure you actually have an FX entry named "batman_2005_batarang."  Make sure you actually gave Batman that fx as well.

Side note: "fx_batman_2005_batarang_1"  <--- this responds to the Start.nif. If the fx doesn't have a start.nif, this won't play.
Disappear when you least expe--

Offline freegentile

  • Sr. Member
  • Posts: 305
  • Isaiah 53:1-12
Re: Batarang sound from The Batman
« Reply #10 on: February 03, 2010, 02:43:36 PM »
That was it. There was only core & end. I set up the sound w/ the _2 suffix & it's good to go. Man, that was an ordeal. Much obliged!