Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
 

News:

Happy 20th Birthday, Freedom Force !!!


Author Topic: Adding powers to FFX Control Center  (Read 2280 times)

Offline Failed_Hero

  • The Avatar of Try, Try, Again
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 641
Adding powers to FFX Control Center
« on: January 27, 2009, 01:41:55 AM »
Hey folks I've been building powers in FFedit, and I was wondering how to insert these powers into the FFX control center. Is this possible
At the end of the day all that matter is that I tried, right?

Offline TaskMasterX

  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 955
  • Taskmaster + EnergyX = TaskMasterX
    • TaskmasterX's Freedom Force Conversion
Re: Adding powers to FFX Control Center
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2009, 08:18:13 PM »
Certain FFX Attributes use the Powers listed FFEdit as part of their customization. Are you trying to build a new attribute to use your created powers in FFEdit, or are you trying to get existing FFX attributes to use the powers you've created?

Offline Failed_Hero

  • The Avatar of Try, Try, Again
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 641
Re: Adding powers to FFX Control Center
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2009, 02:37:01 AM »
I was trying to add a created power to be used as a customization for telekinesis and super telekinesis
At the end of the day all that matter is that I tried, right?

Offline TaskMasterX

  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 955
  • Taskmaster + EnergyX = TaskMasterX
    • TaskmasterX's Freedom Force Conversion
Re: Adding powers to FFX Control Center
« Reply #3 on: January 28, 2009, 04:41:34 AM »
Ah. Then the new powers you created should automatically appear in the FFXCC customization for TK.

Offline stumpy

  • treselgonian dementialist
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 4494
Re: Adding powers to FFX Control Center
« Reply #4 on: January 28, 2009, 05:28:03 AM »
Right, just make sure you used FFEdit to add the power to the right mod and then have the FFX Control Centre also set to that mod.
Courage is knowing it might hurt, and doing it anyway. Stupidity is the same. And that's why life is hard. - Jeremy Goldberg

Offline Failed_Hero

  • The Avatar of Try, Try, Again
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 641
Re: Adding powers to FFX Control Center
« Reply #5 on: January 30, 2009, 03:19:03 AM »
Got it working guys thanks a million, however, it only works if it is a direct attack? What's Up with That?
At the end of the day all that matter is that I tried, right?

Offline Failed_Hero

  • The Avatar of Try, Try, Again
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 641
Re: Adding powers to FFX Control Center
« Reply #6 on: February 01, 2009, 08:04:32 PM »
Ok Stumpy,  I have just downloaded FFX3.3.  This is to have fresh files and to upgrade FFX.  Do I need to manually transfer my (FFEdit) created powers and fx or is there a quicker way?  This way we can start fresh string, multi and needed files
At the end of the day all that matter is that I tried, right?

Offline stumpy

  • treselgonian dementialist
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 4494
Re: Adding powers to FFX Control Center
« Reply #7 on: February 02, 2009, 03:47:00 AM »
The method for transferring powers in FFEdit is similar to the one for FX (as per your other thread), but there may have been changes in the powers included with FFX and you don't want to overwrite those with an older version.

I think the proper way to do that is in two stages. First, merge the new powers.dat into the old one (select the old one first in FFEdit) and then merge the old one into the new one (select the new one first in FFEdit).

As always, make a backup of both files before starting.
Courage is knowing it might hurt, and doing it anyway. Stupidity is the same. And that's why life is hard. - Jeremy Goldberg